CITIZENKAY

Rusty accents

Posted on: April 21, 2013

A women who doesn’t wear perfume has no future says Coco Chanel. We at Citizenkay completely agree to her and review Two Dior Perfumes.

new

J’Adore L’Absolu:IMG-20130414-032241

Whether you like fruity or floral, one spritz of this fragrance will invoke the sweet smell of summer. This scent is perfect for a summer’s day. It speaks grace and romance. Close your eyes and take a whiff. Thanks to the rose and white musk that balance out a strong jasmine note, this heady scent makes you feel like you’re in a garden.

Packaging:

J’Adore is a classic but recently they have reinvented this scent by doing J’Adore L’Or and L’Absolu. The L’Absolu bottle is exactly the same as the original J’Adore. It is in a curvy bottle to represent the curvy body of a woman.

Ingredients:

When I Google’d to find its ingredients I was not surprised when I came across the results. When you open the bottle you can distinguish between the scents provided by this Dior. Its top note comprises of ylang-ylang; middle notes are tuberose, jasmine and rose; base notes are fruity notes, musk and woodsy notes.

Hypnotic Poison:hynoticpoison1

I am a huge fan of perfumes, especially the ones that infuse a strange mix of scents. I am not a girl who likes only fruity, citrus scents or even overtly sweet scents. When purchasing a perfume, I keep two basic things in mind: One being the smell and the other, the lasting power. Both, well, are clearly fulfilled by my recent buy. Strike one; good first impression.

So coming to the scent, I wanted this perfume since last year. Finally, two weeks ago, my father bought it from Singapore. Overjoyed, I took a whiff. I didn’t quite understand what exactly the scent was. It was a mixture between rust, vanilla and a strong pungent odour that cannot be described. Then I gave it another one, it was strange. Finally, I logged on to my best friend ‘Google’ to lend me some information on this weird smelling fragrance.

The perfume was originally launched in 1998 and was founded by Annick Menardo. The top notes include apricot, plum and coconut; middle notes are tuberose, jasmine, lily-of-the-valley, rose, brazilian rosewood and caraway; base notes are sandalwood, almond, vanilla and musk.

To me, it was a mismatch of all these scents. Given its ingredients, it is gives it an oriental flavour to it. Though I am a fan of such scents, I didn’t quite like this one. It gives a strange rusty and almost an ointment-like odour (not scent) that lingers all day. Still, madly guilty about this pricey purchase, I gave it a second chance and wore it in the evening. No, it didn’t help, so much so that I don’t even think I will wear this one in the winters (It is a winter scent).

So finally, the red bottle is resting on my vanity block, totally untouched. Some may like it as it may smell differently on different people. For me, I would go for any Indian attar than breaking my bank for this!

Disclaimer: All the products mentioned in this review are bought by the owners of this blog until mentioned otherwise.

Text:  Sarika Nagdeo

3 Responses to "Rusty accents"

I really want to try J’Adore L’Absolu. Thank you so much for such a detailed post about these perfumes. Loving your blog 🙂

-www.thebeautybeastblog.com xx

Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I抣l be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 181 other followers

Follow on Bloglovin
IFB

Tweet-a-thon

